whistle blower policy

POLICY AND PROCEDURES FOR REPORTING POSSIABLE IMPROPRIETIES IN MATTERS OF FINANCIAL REPORTING OR OTHER MATTERS

WHISTLE BLOWER POLICY

The Audit Committee of the Board of Directors of GDS Holdings Limited (the “Company”) has established the following procedures for the receipt, retention, investigation and treatment of complaints and concerns regarding accounting, internal accounting controls, auditing and other legal matters.

I. Scope

A. The procedures set forth in this Policy relate to complaints and concerns of employees and other interested parties, including shareholders, (each referred to in this Policy as a “Complainant”) of the Company, its subsidiaries and consolidated entities (“Reports”) regarding:

1. questionable accounting, internal accounting controls or auditing matters (an “Accounting Allegation”), including, without limitation:

(a) fraud or deliberate error in the preparation, evaluation, review or audit of financial statements of the Company;

(b) fraud or deliberate error in the recording and maintaining of the Company’s financial records;

(c) the circumvention or attempted circumvention of internal accounting controls;

(d) deficiencies in, or non-compliance with, the Company’s internal control over financial reporting or accounting policies;

(e) any misrepresentation or false statement regarding a matter contained in the Company’s financial records, financial statements, financial reports (including discussions in an annual reports filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission (the “SEC”)), or audit reports, or any other failure to provide a full or fair reporting of the Company’s financial condition;

(f) deviation from full and fair reporting of the Company’s financial condition and results;

(g) substantial variation in the Company’s financial reporting methodology from prior practice or from generally accepted accounting principles;

(h) issues affecting the independence of the Company’s independent registered public accounting firm;

(i) falsification, concealment or inappropriate destruction of corporate or financial records;

2. non-compliance with applicable legal and regulatory requirements, including without limitation, the rules and regulations promulgated by the SEC and the Listed Company Manual of the New York Stock Exchange (to the extent applicable), or the Company’s Code of Business Conduct and Ethics (a “Legal Allegation”) which is posted and accessible by all employees via internal Office Automation system; and

3. retaliation against employees and other persons who make, in good faith, Accounting Allegations or Legal Allegations (a “Retaliatory Act”).

B. In the discretion of the Audit Committee, responsibilities of the Audit Committee created by these procedures may be delegated to Ethics Committee, a subcommittee of the Audit Committee.

Ethics Committee, shall mean a committee comprising of the Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Chief Finance Officer (CFO), Head of Human Resource and General Counsel (or their respective equivalents). The CEO (or his equivalent) will be appointed as the chairman of the Ethics Committee.

The Ethics Committee shall address questions and concerns raised and provide oversight to investigation of concerns or violations of matters not involving any members of the Ethics Committee as well as implement measures of rectification and prevention. If the concern or violation involves the department of any Ethics Committee member, he or she shall recuse himself or herself from overseeing the investigation of such concerns or violations and the remaining members of the Ethics Committee shall have oversight over such investigations.

In line with good corporate governance practices, all concerns or violations raised and cases of "whistle blowing" will be reported to and reviewed by the Company’s Audit Committee. For matters involving any members of the Ethics Committee, the investigation will be directly supervised by the Audit Committee. Please refer to Appendix.

II. Procedures for Making Complaints

A. In addition to any other avenue available, any employee may, in his or her sole discretion, report to the Audit Committee or the compliance officer appointed by the Board (the “Compliance Officer”) openly, confidentially or anonymously, any Accounting Allegation, Legal Allegation or Retaliatory Act:

1. in writing to the Company, Attn: [Audit Committee or the Compliance Officer], 2/F, Tower 2, Youyou Century Place, 428 South Yanggao Road, Pudong, Shanghai, People’s Republic of China 200127; or

2. by sending an e-mail to Ethics@gds-services.com; or

3. by calling the hotline or leave a voice mail at +86 21 2033 0301 during the normal office hours (9:00 – 18:00, China Standard Time) Monday through Friday.

B. Any other interested party may report to the Audit Committee or the Compliance Officer any Accounting Allegation, Legal Allegation or Retaliatory Act, as set forth in Section II.A. above. Any such Report must be accompanied by the name of the person submitting the Report. Where permitted by law, your phone calls and reports may be made anonymously. However, anonymous feedback will not be accorded the same level of attention by the Audit Committee of the Company.

C. The Reports should be factual rather than speculative or conclusory, and should contain as much specific information as possible to allow for proper assessment. In addition, all Reports should contain sufficient corroborating information to support the commencement of an investigation, including, for example, the names of individuals suspected of violations, the relevant facts of the violations, how the Complainant became aware of the violations, any steps previously taken by the Complainant, who may be harmed or affected by the violations, and, to the extent possible, an estimate of the misreporting or losses to the Company as a result of the violations.

III. Procedures upon Receipt of a Report

A. The Compliance Officer should, upon receipt of a Report and when possible and appropriate, acknowledge receipt to the Complainant who submitted it.

B. All Reports sent to the Compliance Officer must promptly undergo an initial review by Audit Committee and the Compliance Officer, who must:

1. promptly forward to the Audit Committee any report involving the Company’s senior officials or having an actual or potential misreporting or loss to the Company that could have a material adverse effect on the Company’s reputation or financial statements; and

2. promptly determine whether to commence an investigation of all other Reports:

(a) the Compliance Officer may, in his/her reasonable discretion, determine not to commence an investigation if the Report contains only unspecified or broad allegations of wrongdoing without appropriate informational support or if the Report is not credible. This decision shall be reported to the Audit Committee at its next ordinary meeting and shall, to the extent appropriate, be made known to the Complainant who submitted the Report. The Audit Committee may, however, not accept this decision, in which case it will determine whether the Audit Committee or the Compliance Officer will investigate the Report, taking into account the factors described in Section IV.B.2. below; and

(b) If the Compliance Officer determines that an investigation must be conducted, he/she will promptly commence the investigation. The Compliance Officer shall also promptly investigate other Reports as requested in writing by the Audit Committee. The Compliance Officer shall report the findings of the investigations conducted pursuant to this section to the Audit Committee in accordance with Section III.D.

C. the Compliance Officer may consult with any other member of management who is not the subject of the Accounting Allegation, Legal Allegation or Retaliatory Act included in the Report and who may have appropriate expertise to provide assistance in connection with the investigation of the Report. The Compliance Officer may also engage independent accountants, counsel or other experts to assist in the investigation of Reports and analysis of results, if necessary or appropriate.

D. the Compliance Officer shall, provide a monthly report to Audit Committee following by a conference call. Additionally, at every Audit Committee’s ordinary meeting, present a summary of all the Reports received by, or forwarded to, her/him (including those Reports that she/he decided not to investigate) and all the material developments, findings and conclusions of investigations since the previous meeting. The Audit Committee may or may not accept such findings and conclusions. The Compliance Officer shall provide such additional information regarding any Report or investigation as may be requested by the Audit Committee.

IV. Procedures upon Complaint Report received, or Forwarded to, the Audit Committee

A. The Audit Committee should, upon receipt of a report directly from a Complaint and when possible and appropriate, acknowledge, or direct the Compliance Officer to acknowledge, receipt of the Report to the Complainant who submitted it.

B. All Reports received directly by the Audit Committee or pursuant to Section III.B.1. above must promptly undergo a review by the Audit Committee:

1. The Audit Committee may, in its reasonable discretion, determine not to commence an investigation if a Report contains only unspecified or broad allegations of wrongdoing without appropriate informational support or the Report is not credible. This decision shall, to the extent appropriate, be made known to the Complainant who submitted the Report.

2. If the Audit Committee determines that an investigation should be conducted, the Audit Committee shall determine whether the Audit Committee or the Compliance Officer should investigate the Report, taking into account, among other factors that are appropriate under the circumstances, the following:

(a) Who is the alleged wrongdoer? If an executive officer, senior financial officer or other high management official is alleged to have engaged in wrongdoing, that factor alone may militate in favor of the Audit Committee conducting the investigation.

(b) How material is the misreporting or loss? The more material the misreporting or loss to the Company, the more appropriate it may be that the Audit Committee should conduct the investigation.

(c) How serious is the alleged wrongdoing? The more serious the alleged wrongdoing, the more appropriate that the Audit Committee should undertake the investigation. If the alleged wrongdoing would constitute a crime involving the integrity of the financial statements of the Company or would have a material adverse effect on the Company’s reputation or financial statements, that factor alone may militate in favor of the Audit Committee conducting the investigation.

(d) How credible is the allegation of wrongdoing? The more credible the allegation, the more appropriate that the Audit Committee should undertake the investigation. In assessing credibility, the Audit Committee should consider all facts surrounding the allegation, including, but not limited to, whether similar allegations have been made in the press or by analysts.

C. If the Audit Committee determines that the Compliance Officer should investigate the Report, the Audit Committee will notify the Compliance Officer in writing of that conclusion. The Compliance Officer shall thereafter promptly investigate the Report and shall report the results of the investigation to the Audit Committee in accordance with Section III.D. In the other cases, the Audit Committee shall promptly investigate the Report.

D. The Audit Committee may consult with any member of management who is not the subject of the Accounting Allegation, Legal Allegation or Retaliatory Act included in the Report and who may have appropriate expertise to provide assistance. The Audit Committee may also engage independent accountants, counsel or other experts to assist in the investigation of Reports and analysis of results.

V. Results of Investigation

A. Upon completion of the investigation of a Report:

1. the Audit Committee or the Compliance Officer, as the case may be, will take such prompt and appropriate corrective action, if any, as in its/his/her judgment is deemed warranted; and

2. the Audit Committee or the member of management, as the case may be, will contact, to the extent appropriate, each Complainant who files a Report to inform him/her of the results of the investigation and what, if any, corrective action was taken.

B. Where alleged facts disclosed pursuant to this Policy are not substantiated, the conclusions of the investigation shall, to the extent appropriate, be made known to the Complainant who made the Report.

C. No action will be taken against any Complainant who makes a Report in good faith, even if the facts alleged are not confirmed by subsequent investigation. However, if, after investigation, a Report is found to be without substance and to have been made for malicious or frivolous reasons, the employees who made the Report could be subject to disciplinary action, up to, and including, termination of employment.

VI. Protection of Whistleblowers

A. Neither the Company, the Audit Committee nor any director, officer or employee of the Company will discharge, demote, suspend, threaten, harass, directly or indirectly, or in any other manner discriminate or retaliate, directly or indirectly, against any person who, in good faith, makes a Report or otherwise assists the Audit Committee, management or any other person or group, including any governmental, regulatory or law enforcement body, in investigating a Report.

B. Unless necessary to conduct an adequate investigation or compelled by judicial or other legal process, neither the Company, the Audit Committee nor any director, officer or employee of the Company shall (i) reveal the identity of any person who makes a Report and asks that his or her identity remain confidential, or (ii) make any effort, or tolerate any effort made by any other person or group, to ascertain the identity of any person who makes a Report anonymously.

VII. Records

The Audit Committee and the Compliance Officer shall maintain a log of all records relating to any Reports of Accounting Allegation, Legal Allegation or Retaliatory Act, tracking their receipt, investigation and resolution and the response to the person making the Report. The Company shall retain copies of the reports and records for a period of seven years.

Endorsed by Audit Committee and Board of Directors, approved in September 2015.

This policy is promulgated in November 2015.

APPENDIX

 

 

* If the concern or violation involves the department of any Ethics Committee member, he or she shall recuse from overseeing the investigation of such concerns or violations and the remaining of the Ethics Committee shall have oversight over such investigations.

举报制度

为接收、保留、调查和处理有关会计、内部监控、审计及其他法律事务的投诉及相关事宜,防止公司各种不正行为,以及违法违纪等行为的产生与纠正,保障举报管理工作规范进行,依法保护举报人的合法权益,万国数据(“公司”)董事会审计委员会特制订以下程序:

A.本制度涵盖举报,来自员工的顾虑及其他利益相关方(在本政策中均被称为“举报人”),其中包括股东, 其子公司及被合并公司,有关以下方面的举报及关注事宜:

1.可疑的会计、内部监控或审计(“会计诉请”),其不正当行为或故意造成的错误;

(a)在记录和维护公司财务记录过程中的不正当行为或故意造成的错误;

(b)欺骗或试图欺骗内部监控;

(c)缺陷或背离对财务报告或会计政策的内部控制;

(d)有关公司财务记录、财务报表、财务报告(其中包括在向证券交易委员会(“SEC”)申报的年度或季度报告中的讨论)、或对审计报告中所包含内容的任何歪曲或错误陈述、或任何其他妨碍提供公司财务状况的完全性或公正性报告的情况;

(e)完全背离公正汇报公司财务状况及结果的情况;

(f)公司财务报告的方法与之前使用的方法、或与会计准则之间存在重大差异;

(g)影响到为公司提供服务的会计师事务所独立性的事宜;

(h)造假、隐匿或以不适当的方式销毁公司或财务记录;

2.不遵从适用法律及监管要求的情况,其中包括,但并不限于:(在适用的情况下)SEC和《纽约股票交易所上市公司手册》中颁布的规章制度、或公司的《业务行为及商业道德准则》(“法律诉请”);和报复善意汇报会计诉请或法律诉请的雇员和其他人(“报复行为”)。

根据审计委员会的决定,审计委员会的职责可以授权给审计委员会主席、或审计委员会的一个下属委员会 - 纪律委员会。

纪律委员会成员包括首席执行官,首席财务官,人事部高级总裁,法律总顾问(或同等职能)。首席执行官(或同等职能)将被任命为纪律委员会主席。

纪律委员会对举报的问题进行解决并监督调查除纪律委员会成员以外的违纪行为,协助整改措施的落实。如果举报的违纪行为涉及到委员会成员,他/她将不得参与相关的监督调查。

为了保持良好的公司管理次序,所有“举报”将被报告至公司的审计委员会并被其审阅。任何被举报的涉及到纪律委员会成员的违纪行为,将由审计委员会直接监督指导,详见附录。

举报流程

除任何其他可供选择的途径外,任何雇员可以根据其自身的决定,以公开、保密或匿名的形式,通过以下方式,向审计委员会、或董事会任命的合规监察负责人(“合规负责人”)汇报任何会计诉请诉请、法律诉请或报复行为:

1.以书面形式举报,收件人及地址:中国上海市浦东新区杨高南路428号由由世纪广场2号楼2楼,邮编:200127, 审计委员会或合规负责人 (收); 或发送电子邮件至 Ethics@gds-services.com或拨打合规监察热线或留言至 +86 21 2033 0301,工作时间(9:00 – 18:00,中国标准时间)周一至周五。

任何其他利益相关方均可向审计委员会或合规负责人,按照第II节中所规定的方式,举报任何会计诉请、法律诉请或报复行为。举报人无论采取何种署名形式,必须让具体负责受理举报工作的人员能与之取得联系,否则,公司相关部门有权拒绝受理。

举报应以事实为基础,而不是推测或没有证据的结论,并应包含详细具体的信息,以便做适当的评估。此外,所有举报均应包含充足的证实性信息,以便为启动调查提供支持,其中包括,例如:涉嫌违规人姓名、违规的相关事实、举报人如何了解到违规情况的、举报人之前采取的任何措施、违规可能造成的损害或影响、以及(在可能的情况下)对因违规导致公司的误报或所蒙受的损失的一个估算。

获取举报后的处理

A.在收到举报后、并在可能和适当时,合规负责人应及时告知举报人其已收到举报。

合规负责人必须对接收到的全部举报进行及时地初步审查,他/她必须:

如果涉及公司高管、或涉及有关公司的实际或潜在误报或损失的任何举报,可能对公司的信誉或财务报告存在重大不良影响的,需及时转发所有相关信息给审计委员会;和及时确定是否对所有其他举报开展调查:

如果举报仅包含有限的说明、或没有提供相应的信息支持的违规诉请,或举报内容明显不可信,则合规负责人可自行决定不开展调查。相关决定应在审计委员会下一次例会上,汇报给审计委员会,并应在适当的情况下,通知举报人。但是,审计委员会可以不接受该决定,在此等情况下,审计委员会将参考下述第IV.B.2节中所描述的各项因素,决定由审计委员会、还是由合规负责人调查该举报;和(b)如果合规负责人确定必须进行调查,他/她将及时开展调查。合规负责人还应按照审计委员会的书面要求,及时调查其他举报。合规负责人应根据第III.D节之规定,向审计委员会汇报根据本节所进展的调查发现。

合规负责人可以寻求管理层任何其他成员的意见,条件是此等成员不是举报中所包含的会计诉请、法律诉请或报复行为的主体,并且此等成员可能具备一定的专业知识与技能,对举报所进行的调查,能够提供帮助。如果必要或适当,合规负责人还可以聘用独立的会计师、法律顾问或其他专家,协助调查举报或分析结果。

合规负责人应在每次审计委员会例会上,有关他/她收到的、或转交给他/她的全部举报(其中包括他/她已决定不进行调查的举报)、以及自前次例会以来调查的所有重要进展、发现和结论,递交一份摘要。审计委员会可能会、或可能不会接受此等发现和结论。按照审计委员会提出的要求,合规负责人应提供此等有关任何报告或调查的补充信息。

对审计委员会所收到、或转递给审计委员会举报的处理

在直接收到举报后,并且在可能且适当之时,审计委员会应及时告知、或指示合规负责人告知相应举报人,已收到该举报的事实。

审计委员会直接收到的、或根据上述第III.B.1节收到的所有举报均必须及时经过审计委员会的检查:

如果举报仅包含有限的说明、或没有提供相应的信息支持的违规诉请,或举报内容明显不可信,则审计委员会可以根据其合理的判断,决定不开展调查。该决定应在适当的情况下,通知递交该举报的举报人。

如果审计委员会确定开展调查,则应参考其他适当因素,决定是由审计委员会、还是合规负责人调查该举报;

(a)被诉请的违规人员?如果执行官、高级财务官或其他高级管理人员被诉请参与了违规活动,则该情况本身即可促使审计委员会开展调查。

(b)误报或损失的重要性?对公司的误报或损失产生严重影响的,由审计委员会开展调查。

(c)所诉请的违规行为的严重性?所诉请的违规行为的严重性,决定审计委员会进行调查的因素。如果所诉请的违规行为可能会构成涉及公司财务报表完整性的犯罪、或可能对公司的信誉或财务报表存在重大不良影响,则该情况本身即可促使审计委员会开展调查。

(d)违规诉请的可信性?诉请的可信性,决定审计委员会进行调查的因素。在评估可信性的过程中,审计委员会应考虑围绕诉请的所有事实,其中包括,但并不限于:类似诉请是否已经被媒体报道。

如果审计委员会决定由合规负责人调查该举报,则以书面的形式通知合规负责人该决定。合规负责人应由此及时调查该举报,并根据第III.D节向审计委员会汇报调查结果。在其他情况下,审计委员会应及时调查该举报。

审计委员会可以寻求管理层任何其他成员的意见,条件是此等成员不是举报中所包含的会计诉请、法律诉请或报复行为的主体,并且此等成员可能具备相应的专业知识与技能,能够提供帮助。审计委员会还可以聘用独立的会计师、法律顾问或其他专家,协助调查举报或分析结果。

调查结果

举报调查完毕后:

视情况,审计委员会或合规负责人将采取及时且适当的纠正措施(如果有);和视情况,审计委员会或管理层将在适当的情况下,联系递交举报的各举报人,以通知他/她调查的结果、以及(如果有)已采取了纠正措施。

在根据本政策被披露的诉请事实无法得到证实的情况下,递交举报的举报人应在适当的情况下被告知调查结论。

公司不会对善意的举报人采取任何不利行动,即便所诉请的事实在随后的调查中未得到证实。但是,待调查后,举报被认为没有实质内容、并且是恶意企图提出的,递交举报的雇员可能会受到纪律处分,不排除终止雇用关系。

对举报人的保护

A.公司、审计委员会和公司董事、管理人员和雇员均不会直接或间接地解雇、 威胁或骚扰善意的举报、或以其他形式在调查的过程中协助审计委员会、管理层、或其他任何个人或群体(其中包括政府、监管或执法机构)、或直接以及间接地给予降职或停职、或以任何其他形式直接或间接歧视或报复举报人。

除有必要进行充分调查、或司法或其他法律程序强制进行调查的情况外,公司、审计委员会和公司的任何董事、管理人员和雇员均不得(i)泄露递交举报、且要求对他/她的身分进行保密之任何人的身分,或(ii)试图、或容许任何其他个人或群体确认匿名递交举报之任何人的身分。

记录

审计委员会应保存有关任何会计诉请、法律诉请或报复行为所有记录的日志、跟踪其接收、调查和解决、以及对递交举报之人的回应。公司应保存报告副本及审计委员会日志的期限为七年。

本制度由审计委员会以及董事会于2015年9月审阅通过。
本制度于2015年11月颁布执行。

*如果举报的违纪行为涉及到纪律委员会成员,他/她将不得参与相关的监督调查。